Concert “Composer / Performer” – Ensemble “Studio 6”

09.12.2023., 20:00

Ana Gnjatović (1984)
Ista daljina, merena raznim potrebama for the counting woman, chamber ensemble and electronics (2023) – premiere

Catherine Kontz (1976)
Tea ceremony for harp (2005)

Miša Cvijović (1984)
Impro – wise, sound experiment for an ensemble (2023) – premiere

Ana Gnjatović, voice and electronics
Miša Cvijović, piano and electronics
Milana Zarić, harp
Karolina Beter, flute and recorder
Christoph Jahn, cello
Vladimir Blagojević, accordion

Ana Gnjatović is a Belgrade-based composer, sound- and multimedia artist, collecting and combining found items, works, concepts, and ideas that lend themselves to generalization, translation, interpretation, and sonorization. She finished her Ph.D. studies in composition at the University of Arts in Belgrade.
She has attended various composition masterclasses and workshops, working with composers Georges Aperghis, Louis Andriessen, Franck Bedrossian, Chaya Czernowin, Brian Ferneyhough,  Ivan Fedele, Beat Furrer, and G.F. Haas, among others. She was a prize winner of the Summer Academy ISA05 (2005) and of the 7th Pre-art Compositon Competition (2013), winner of the FoM Belgrade ‘Josip Slavenski’ award (2010), finalist of the 4th International Biennial of Contemporary Music in Koper (2014).
Her pieces have been performed throughout Europe, in Israel, Mexico, USA and Japan, and have been programmed at festivals such as the International Review of Composers, KoMA, ‘Harpsichord – Living Art’, Wratislavia cantans (PL), Espressivo (ME), Ankara Music Festival (TR), MusMA Festival, Culturescapes (CH), International Harp Festival ‘Harp Connection’, Festival de Wallonie (BE), MUSLAB (MX), MA/IN MAtera INtermedia festival (IT), Belgrade Saxperience.
She has collaborated with ensemble Sentieri selvaggi, E-MEX, soloists of the OENM, pre-art, RTS Symphony Orchestra, Wroclaw Philharmonic Choir, ​among others.
Ms. Gnjatović is currently employed as associate professor at the Faculty of Arts Univeristy of Kosovska Mitrovica, where she teaches music analysis. At the doctoral program Multimedia Arts of the Universtiy of Arts in Belgrade she teaches courses in techniques and technologies of music and creation of multimedia artwork. In her recent artistic research, she explores the extension of instrumental performance through the use of electronics, speech, movement, video.

Catherine Kontz (b. 1976) is a London-based composer whose works explore nonlinear form, visual/spatial elements, and musical theatricality.
Catherine Kontz has extensively worked within the world of new opera: notable commissions and multimedia productions include Neige at Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg and The Philosophy Shop at RADA, which she  composed and directed, plus regular appearances at the Tête-à-Tête opera festival. Fleet Footing, a psycho-geographical sound-walk and collaboration with S.L. Grange, was shortlisted for the Quattropole Music Prize, as was 12 HOURS, an innovative marathon for voice and electronics, created for mezzo-soprano Rosie Middleton. A new soundwalk Wou d’Uezlecht- Esch in collaboration with S.L. Grange launched in April 2022 as part of Esch2022 and is available for free in 8 languages.
Catherine Kontz was an artist-in-residence in the Department of Engineering at King’s College London in 2021. In collaboration with Zoran Cvetkovic, Professor of Signal Processing, she has been working on a collaborative project exploring the potential of audio technologies and human processes of intelligence.
Catherine Kontz first studied piano at the Conservatoire in her native Luxembourg with Michèle Ries, and later in London with John Tilbury. In 2008 she received a Doctorate in Composition from GOLDSMITHS, supervised by Roger Redgate. Her research related Deleuzian theory to mime opera, the cinema of David Lynch, and the Japanese art of Kabuki and culminated with the creation of the groundbreaking music theatre work, MiE, which enjoyed a run of six sold out London performances.
She can also be seen co-fronting avant-pop band French For Cartridge and is one half of experimental duo une cartouche. She has performed with many bands over the years, including Mika Sellens, The Wedding Present, Kawakawa, Icons of Elegance, Quinta, and Woodchuck. She likes bright colours, bold clashes, a bit of dissonance and looks to catch a few beautiful moments on her way.
She is the artistic director of the rainy days festival, the contemporary music festival at Philharmonie Luxembourg.
She is Professor of Composition at Royal College of London.

Misha Cvijović is a Serbian composer and pianist based in Berlin. She developed her musical career in the fields of instrumental and orchestral contemporary music, electroacoustic music, contemporary opera and musical theater, theatre and film music. Her compositions have been performed at numerous international festivals.
Her compositions have been performed by many internationally established soloists, ensembles and orchestras for contemporary music, including: Ensemble LUX:NM, Zafraan Ensemble, Ensemble RADAR, Sebastian Berweck, Siirje Viise, Zone Experimentale Basel, Orchestra Radio Television Serbia, SYNK Ensemble, Disturbulence 3 and many more.
During her Opera/Theater/Film career she worked as composer, arranger, pianist and musical director.
She participated in many international composition festivals and seminars with Georges Aperghis, Mark Andre, Catherine Milliken, Heiner Goebbels, Lucia Ronchetti, Hannspeter Kyburz, Wolfgang Heiniger, Pierluigi Billone, Stefano Gervasoni, William Blake, Brian Ferneyhough, Johannes Schöllhorn, Brigitta Muntendorf, Isabel Mundry, Clara Iannotta, Sarah Maria Sun, She She Pop, Forced Entertainment and many more.
Misha graduated piano from the Academy of Arts in Novi Sad in the class of Vladimir Ogarkov, as well as composition from the Faculty of Music Arts in Belgrade in the class of Vlastimir Trajković. She graduated composition from the renowned HfM Hanns Eisler Berlin in the class of Eun-Hwa Cho.
Misha is a scholarship holder of the scholarship program for professional Berlin artists and curators of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe in Berlin 2021 and the Musikfonds Berlin 2021 with Trio Splitsignals Berlin.